Researchers

Researcher

Prof. Dr. Rolf Backofen

Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg (Professur für Bioinformatik)

Project: Riboprofiling and Bioinformatics

E-Mail: backofen@informatik.uni-freiburg.de

Prof. Dr. Dörte Becher

Ernst-Moritz-Arndt University Greifswald (Becher – EMA University Greifswald)

Project: Proteomics and peptidomics for the identification and functional characterization of sORF encoded proteins

E-Mail: dbecher@uni-greifswald.de

PD Dr. Bork Berghoff

University of Giessen (Mikrobiologie und Molekularbiologie)

Project: Functional and regulatory interdependence of small proteins during membrane depolarization and persister cell formation in Escherichia coli

E-Mail: bork.a.berghoff@mikro.bio.uni-giessen.de

Prof. Dr. Thomas Clavel

Uniklinik RWTH Aachen (AG Clavel)

Project: Ecology and functions of small SCIFF proteins in the gut microbiome

E-Mail: tclavel@ukaachen.de

Prof. Dr. Petra Dersch

Helmholtz Center for Infection Research Braunschweig (HZI – Petra Dersch)

Project: Functional peptides implicated in the virulence of the enteric pathogen Yersinia pseudotuberculosis

E-Mail: petra.dersch@helmholtz-hzi.de

Prof. Dr. Susanne Engelmann

Technical University Braunschweig (AG Engelmann)

Project: Identification and characterization of small proteins in Staphylococcus aureus

E-Mail: susanne.engelmann@helmholtz-hzi.de

Dr. Stephan Fuchs

Robert-Koch-Institut Berlin (Abteilung für Infektionskrankheiten)

Project: Identification and characterization of small proteins in Staphylococcus aureus

E-Mail: fuchss@rki.de

Prof. Dr. Tobias Gulder

TU Dresden (Technische Biochemie)

Project: Ecology and functions of small SCIFF proteins in the gut microbiome

E-Mail: tobias.gulder@chemie.tu-dresden.de

Prof. Dr. Martin Hagemann

University of Rostock (Pflanzenphysiologie)

Project: The role of small proteins in metabolic regulation of cyanobacteria

E-Mail: martin.hagemann@uni-rostock.de

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hess

University of Freiburg (Cyanolab)

Project: The role of small proteins, peptides and dual function transcripts in cyanobacteria

E-Mail: Wolfgang.Hess@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Klug

University of Gießen (Arbeitsgruppe Klug)

Project: Role of small proteins in the stress response of Alphaproteobacteria

E-Mail: Gabriele.Klug@mikro.bio.uni-giessen.de

Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Koch

University of Freiburg (Koch Lab)

Project: Small membrane proteins (SMPs) as organizers of the bacterial membrane

E-Mail: hans-georg.koch@biochemie.uni-freiburg.de

Prof. Dr. Julian Langer

Max-Planck-Institute of Biophysics (Biophys MPG)

Project: Identifying and characterizing µ-membrane proteins in prokaryotic terminal oxidases and proteomes

E-Mail: julian.langer@biophys.mpg.de

Prof. Dr. Franz Narberhaus

Ruhr University Bochum (LS Biologie der Mikroorganismen_Narberhaus)

Project: Investigation of small arginine-rich proteins of the DUF1127 family from Agrobacterium tumefaciens

E-Mail: franz.narberhaus@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Marc Nowaczyk

Ruhr University Bochum (Plant Biochemistry – PG Nowaczyk)

Project: The role of small single transmembrane helix proteins in cyanobacteria

E-Mail: Marc.M.Nowaczyk@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena (Papenfort Lab)

Project: α-Proteobacteria: Investigation of small arginine-rich proteins of the DUF1127 family from Agrobacterium tumefaciens

E-Mail: kai.papenfort@uni-jena.de

Prof. Dr. Juri Rappsilber

Technische Universität Berlin (AG Rappsilber)

Project: Functional and structural annotation of small proteins by advanced proteomics approaches

E-Mail:

juri.rappsilber@tu-berlin.de

Prof. Dr. Ruth Schmitz-Streit

Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel (AG Schmitz-Streit)

Project: Functional analysis of small proteins in Methanosarcina mazei focusing on those involved in nitrogen regulation or biofilm formation

E-Mail: rschmitz@ifam.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Dr. Harald Schwalbe

Goethe University Frankfurt (Schwalbe Group)

Project: NMR and biophysical characterization of structure and dynamics of small proteins and their complexes

E-Mail: schwalbe@nmr.uni-frankfurt.de

Prof. Dr. Cynthia Sharma

University of Würzburg (IMIB – Sharma)

Project: Exploring small proteins in the food-borne pathogen Campylobacter jejuni

E-Mail: cynthia.sharma@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Jörg Soppa

Goethe University Frankfurt (Abteilung Soppa)

Project: Haloferax volcanii microproteins that contain two CPXCG motifs indicative for one-domain zinc finger proteins

E-Mail: soppa@bio.uni-frankfurt.de

Prof. Dr. Rotem Sorek

Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovot, Israel (Sorek Lab)

Project: Discovery and characterization of prophage-encoded peptides that direct communication between phages

E-Mail: rotem.sorek@weizmann.ac.il

Prof. Dr. Andreas Tholey

Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel (AG Tholey)

Project: Proteomics and peptidomics for the identification and functional characterization of sORF encoded proteins

E-Mail: a.tholey@iem.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Dr. Jörg Vogel

University of Würzburg (IMIB – Vogel)

Project: Functions of small proteins regulated during Salmonella infection

E-Mail: joerg.vogel@uni-wuerzburg.de

Dr. Jing Yuan

Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology Marburg (Dr. Yuan)

Project: Small regulatory proteins of the PhoQ/PhoP two-component system in enterobacteria

E-Mail: jing.yuan@synmikro.mpi-marburg.mpg.de